Champions Return

2017 Women's NPL Champions Adelaide City FC return to competition this Friday night . Pic Adam Butler

Champions Return

Adelaide City will start the 2018 Women’s National Premier League (WNPL) season this Friday night when they take on Cumberland United at Adelaide Shores Football Centre at 6:15pm.

Courtesy FFSA

The reigning champions Adelaide City, look to defend their title with newly promoted Coach Michael Hatzipanagiotis aiming to continue the clubs 2017 success throughout 2018 beyond.

Key players Daniela DiBartolo, Dylan Holmes, Tiarn Powell, Georgia Campagnale and Grace Abbey are all eager and ready to go for the 2018 season. They are joined by new singing Ebony Philcox and the returning Matillda McNamara. Nanako Sasaki extended her stay, which will see the rising star back in the black and white.

After being involved in a relegation battle two seasons in a row, Cumberland United will be looking to rise above the challenges of the previous seasons and start off 2018 with a solid foundation.

Coach Steve Maxwell is aware that “our first goal is to ensure we survive as a WNPL club and that the key to this goal will be that with our young squad we once again have an opportunity to blood more junior players as they begin their transition from juniors to seniors.”

Cumberland United
Coach: Steve Maxwell
Captain: Anna Pritchard
Ins: Milano Venter (Returning from NTC), Sharni Tansell (NTC), Jade Conlon (University), Nadia Mohr
Outs: Zoe Michael (Study commitments)
Key Player: Anna Pritchard and Shauna Whetherell
Rising Star: Caitlin Le Roux
2017 Ladder Position: 7th

Adelaide City
Coach: Michael Hatzipanagiotis
Captain: Tiarn Powell
Ins: Matillda McNamara (Returning), Nanako Sasaki (Extended Stay) Ebony Philcox (Fulham)
Outs: Nora Peat (Interstate)
Key Players: Daniela DiBartolo, Dylan Holmes, Tiarn Powell, Georgia Campagnale and Grace Abbey
Rising Star: Nanako Sasaki
2017 Ladder Position: 3rd