City defeated by Para Hills

City defeated by Para Hills

Round 8 – Adelaide City vs Para Hills Knights
Match report By Euan James @euanjames_

Adelaide City tasted a second straight NPL defeat on Anzac Day, going down 2-1 to Para Hills Knights at Adelaide City Park.

City started the game with good attacking intent but they were not able to capitalise. As the first half went on both teams grew into the game and tried to take control of the midfield.

In the 37th minute, there was an early warning sign for City as a Para Hills strike cannoned off the foot of the post.

The half time break saw both sides head into the rooms without scoring. City manager, Michael Matricciani replaced Chris Pepe with Paul Radice at half time as he looked to add something different in attack.

The first half started brightly as Dominic Matricciani scored for City. He pounced on a loose ball in the box and fired it into the top corner in the 53rd minute.

Para Hills looked to equalise straight away but Nicholas Bucco was there to drive through the midfield and encourage his City team forward.

In the 64th minute, Para Hills attacker Thilo Wilke found himself free in the City box. He was able to head a free kick past Veitch in the City goal to make it 1-1.

Bucco tried to spur his teammates on once again with more driving midfield runs but the team couldn’t find the execution they were looking for. 

In the 78th minute, Para Hills took the lead through Tyson Herraman. His low driven shot on the edge of the box was accurately dispatched, leaving Veitch firmly rooted to the spot.

Benjamin Kovadio entered the game as City tried to find an equaliser but it was not to be. The match finished 2-1 and City endured their second NPL defeat in a row.

Adelaide City will look to bounce back next weekend in an FFA Cup tie against Elizabeth Vale at Adelaide City Park. Following on from that, City will take on Adelaide Comets away in the NPL.

Match statistics

Adelaide City                 1  (D. Matricciani 53′)

Para Hills Knights          2 (T. Wilke 64′, T. Herraman 77′)

Lineup: 1. Ryan Veitch (GK), 3. Bradley Corbo, 45. Tomas Maricic, 4. Elliot Green, 5. Zak Waters, 6. Dominic Matricciani, 8. Joseph Costa (C), 10. Evan Kostopoulos, 11. Nicholas Bucco, Chris Pepe, 9. Anthony Costa,

   Unused subs:  20. Luke Ostbye (GK), 22. Haris Vuckic