City Feature at Awards

City Feature at Awards

Adelaide City FC featured alongside players and clubs from all divisions and leagues at last night’s 2016 Celebration of Football, the official awards ceremony for football in South Australia. Held at the Adelaide Convention Centre, the night saw Adelaide City collect four individual awards as well as a prominence in the PlayStation 4 NPL SA Team of the Year.

PS4 NPLSA Team of the Year: Goalkeeper N. Harpas Defenders M. Halliday I. Fyfe J. Halliday S. Nagel Midfielders A. Piscioneri F. Barbiero N. Bucco Forwards N. Mileusnic J.C Boyokino A. Costa


IMG_0988Damian Mori – Martyn Crook Award – PlayStation 4 NPL SA Coach of the Year

Martyn Crook migrated to Australia from England in 1964 before beginning his junior playing career at Para Hills. He represented West Adelaide on 192 occasions and Para Hills Knights before finishing his Club career at Croydon in 1994. Martyn was between the sticks for Australia on 14 occasions between 1979 – 1983 and coached the Australian Joeys in 2007 and 2008 before passing tragically aged 52. The Martyn Crook Foundation was established in 2009 to assist young footballers in Australia find their full potential regardless of race, gender or financial standing.
IMG_0977 - Copy

Daniela Di Bartolo – Shirley Brown Medal – PlayStation 4 WNPL SA Player of the Year

This medal is named after one of the most prominent people to have contributed to the growth of football for girls and women both locally and nationally. Shirley contributed to sport as a Player, Coach and Administrator, was President of the South Australian Women’s Soccer Association for 10 years, President of the Australian Women’s Soccer Association and she is also a Member of the South Australian Hall of Fame.


IMG_0974 - Copy      Sarah Willacy – PS4 WNPL SA Goalkeeper of the Year

IMG_0973      Anthony Costa – PlayStation 4 NPL SA Golden Boot



Sergio Melta Medal – PlayStation 4 NPL SA Player of the Year – jointly won by Jean Claude Boyokino (Blue Eagles) and Allan Welsh (Adelaide Comets)

The final Medal awarded on the night is named after Sergio Melta, who made 445 appearances in South Australian football all for the one Club, Adelaide City. He appeared once for the Socceroos in 1986 and won the NSL Player of the Year in 1984. Having won three NSL Titles and two NSL Cups with the Black and Whites – Sergio has begun coaching in recent years with West Torrens Birkalla, Adelaide United, White City before returning to his beloved Adelaide City where he is now Technical Director.