City go down to Croydon

City go down to Croydon

Round 11 –  Croydon Kings vs Adelaide City match report By Euan James  (@euanjames_) (photo by Joe Janko)

Adelaide City went down 2-0 to Croydon Kings on a wet Saturday afternoon at Polonia Reserve in round 11 of the NPL. Captain Marcos Flores returned to the lineup for the suspended Nicholas Bucco but it wasn’t enough to inspire his side to a much-needed victory.

It was the second time playing Croydon in the space of a week and the match started slowly as both sides tried to adjust to the slippery conditions. City were dealt an early blow as in form winger Chris Pepe suffered an injury and was replaced by Paul Radice.

City pushed forward and tried to take the lead but shots from Brad Corbo and Stefan Casalbore all flew wide of the mark.

Both sides had opportunities in the first half but Paul Radice came closest as he hit the post with a low driven shot late on.

The second half began in the worst possible way as Tom Maricic brought down his man and conceded a penalty five minutes after the break. Veitch guessed the right way in the City net but he couldn’t stop Croydon’s Adam Martinello from scoring.

Evan Kostopoulos was introduced into the game at the expense of Marcos Flores as City tried to find an equaliser. Although, it wasn’t to be as Croydon scored their second on the counter-attack through Peter Mercurio in the 65th minute.

Kostopoulos burst down the right wing late in the second half as he delivered some exciting crosses but City were unable to capitalise. 

Paul Radice cut in from the left and fired a shot over the crossbar on the final whistle which summed up a disappointing afternoon for City and leaves them relegation zone.

Up next is a huge clash away to bottom of the table South Adelaide on Friday 31st of May.  

Match statistics

Croydon Kings             2  (Adam Martinello 49′ (P), Peter Mercurio 66′)

Adelaide City                0

Lineup: 1. Ryan Veitch (GK), 3. Bradley Corbo, 45. Tomas Maricic 22. Haris Vuckic, 5. Zak Waters, 8. Joseph Costa, 6. Dominic Matricciani, 48. Marcos Flores (C) (10. Evan Kostopoulos 63′), 7. Chris Pepe (18. Paul Radice 7′), 17. Stefan Casalbore (49. Massimo Falco 77′), 9. Anthony Costa

Unused subs: 20. Yanni Delengas (GK), 14. Ante Markulic