Debutants shine as City dominate season opener

Debutants shine as City dominate season opener

Adelaide City got their 2020 NPL SA campaign off to the best possible start on Saturday as they ran out 3-0 winners over newly-promoted Cumberland United.

Nic Bucco’s penalty and debutant Perry Mitris’ impressive brace secured the three points for City in a game they controlled from start to finish.

It was a new-look City side that began the game; Jordan Maricic started in the heart of defence while former Comets goalkeeper Alex Woodlands made his debut between the posts for City.

Aladin Irabona slotted in at right-back for the encounter as Perry Mitris and Anthony Ture also debuted for the Black and Whites.

And it was former Campbelltown man Ture looking lively in the opening minutes, as he latched onto a ball over the top, taking on two players and unluckily firing his left-footed shot just past the upright.

Not long after, Bucco’s lob grazed the top of the crossbar before he finally opened the scoring for City in the 20th minute.

Anthony Ture combined with Adriano Pellegrino and Mitris before he was dragged back by the arm in the Cumberland penalty area as referee Daniel Goodwin had no hesitation in pointing to the spot.

Bucco stepped up confidently, sending his penalty down the middle of the goal and giving City a deserved lead.

Mitris doubled City’s lead eight minutes before the break, as he got on the end of Bucco’s header to unleash an unstoppable half-volley into the roof of the net.

Following the restart, City extended their lead to three as Ture’s square ball was finished by Mitris.

It was a rampant performance by City, who set their sights on next Monday night as they travel to Marden to take on Adelaide Blue Eagles.

Adelaide City FC              3 Bucco 21’ (P) Mitris 36’, 55’

Cumberland United        0

Lineup: 1. Alex Woodlands, 4. Jordan Maricic, 5. Zak Waters. 7. Perry Mitris (Marcos Flores 71’), 8. Bradley Corbo, 10. Evan Kostopoulos, 11. Nicholas Bucco, 14. Aladin Irabona, 16. Tom Love (Awal Dut 67’, 18. Anthony Ture (Stefan Casalbore 77’), 21. Adriano Pellegrino (c)