Kanga Cup Squads Depart

Kanga Cup Squads Depart

The 2017 Adelaide City FC Kanga Cup u12 and u14 squads have today departed from Adelaide for the week long international football tournament in Canberra.

2017 will be the 17th year Adelaide City has competed in the Southern Hemisphere’s largest youth football tournament, the Kanga Cup. During that time the club has taken over 500 young players to the event, providing an experience that has developed them as players, and as people.

Every winter, two teams travel from the Unley Rd junior base to chilly Canberra for an intense week of football. Over the years, City’s teams have acquitted themselves well, with a respectable level of success. It is the experience however of being there;  living and playing with teammates, meeting other teams,  readying for matches, refueling the body, mentally preparing  – a constant schedule and routine requiring discipline and commitment – which provides all the young players with something very special to take away.

The NSR Kanga Cup is the largest International Youth Football Tournament in the Southern Hemisphere. Held annually each July in Canberra, Australia, the week-long event proudly champions the mission of Uniting the Youth of the World through Football. The NSR Kanga Cup is run by Capital Football, the governing body for football in Canberra. The tournament is sanctioned by the Football Federation Australia and the Asian Football Confederation.

The tournament had humble beginnings, starting in 1991 in Sydney before moving to its new home of Canberra in 1993. The inaugural NSR Kanga Cup had just 35 teams participate; the 2016 edition had over 375 teams take part, seeing 5500 participants from Australia and overseas meet in Canberra for a week of football, culture, fun and friendship like no other.

Previous participating teams of the NSR Kanga Cup have hailed from Australia, United States of America, England, Denmark, Italy, Russia, Georgia, South Africa, South Korea, Chinese Taipei, Malaysia, Philippines, India, Indonesia, East Timor, Fiji, New Zealand and others.

As Australia’s premier football festival the NSR Kanga Cup holds a special place within the football family and is an annual calendar highlight for youth footballers of Australia and the world.


Adelaide City Squads

u12 TEAM

u14 TEAM

Brody Burkitt Giuseppe Baldino
Joseph De Rosa Dawson Bojanic
Marco Grelli Ethan Brandwood
Joseph Ianniello Almin Burek
Seowoo Jung Jalen Figueroa
Jordan Lewis Benedek Futty
Franco Mallamo Laurence Galluccio
Patrick McGregor Sebastian Girardi
Alexander Pontifex Adam Harpas
Daniel Scinto Dillon Howie
Oscar Slattery Dean Jerkovic
Fabian Talladira Marco Talladira
Oliver Western Jack Tidemann
Benjamin Saliba Christian Veronese
Luka Dobrovolski Matthew Maio
Stephen McGregor Coach William Cutts
Carlo Talladira Assistant Coach Harry Mitchell
Riccardo De Rosa Team Manager Carmine Maio
Eric Schwenke Physio/Cordinator  Tonia Maio


Competing Teams

u12 Cup

  1. Singok FC KOREA
  2. Avondale FC VIC
  3. International Football School NSW
  4. Manly Warringah FC NSW
  5. JCU Strikers QLD
  6. Bankstown United NSW
  7. Manly United FC NSW
  8. Tahmoor Taipan’s SC NSW
  9. Belwest Foxes ACT
  10. Adelaide City FC SA
  11. Canberra United Academy White ACT
  12. Seoul FC KOREA

u14 Cup

  1. John Paul College QLD
  2. Newington College NSW
  3. Sydney Uni SFC NSW
  4. Woden Weston Wanderers ACT
  5. Northbridge FC NSW
  6. Adelaide City FC SA
  7. Dunbar Rovers FC Development Squad NSW