Westfield FFA Cup Is Here

Westfield FFA Cup Is Here

The draw for the 2017 Westfield FFA Cup for South Australia Round 1 will be held 12:00 midday tomorrow (Thursday 16th March) at Coopers Stadium. The event will be broadcast live on The Advertiser Sport’s Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/TiserSport/?fref=ts

The 2017 Westfield FFA Cup SA kicked off last weekend as Preliminary Round matches were held at various locations around the State with FFSA State League 2 clubs and Affiliated Associations entering at this stage.

Adelaide City FC will join the fray along with other NPL clubs for Round 1 of the competition slated for the weekend of  24 – 26 March.

This year’s competition was very well received around South Australia with 42 teams nominating to partake. The Preliminary Round featured Affiliated Clubs and Associations as well as FFSA State League 2 Clubs. The headline fixture was the ‘Riverland Derby’ between Barmera United and Renmark Olympic, with Olympic taking the spoils.

Bags of goals were banged in throughout the Adelaide Cup long weekend during the 2017 Westfield FFA Cup SA Preliminary Round, and the good news is more Cup Football is near.

The victors from the SA Preliminary Round enter Round 1’s Draw tomorrow at midday full of confidence and excitement for the possibility of being drawn to play against 2016 PlayStation 4 National Premier League Champions, Campbelltown City, or Premiers, Adelaide City FC, in a knockout clash.

Each of the other 10 top flight Clubs will also be entered into the draw at this stage, along with the remaining State League 1 Clubs.

Preliminary Round Results

International SC (Mt Gambier) 4 – 3 Rostrevor Old Collegians SC (Collegiate League)
Mount Barker United (State League 2) 1-6 Gawler SC (State League 2)
Eastern United (State League 2) 1-4 Western Strikers (State League 1)
Northern Demons (State League 2 ) 8-2 Uni SA FC (State League 2)
Playford City (State League 2) def. Gambier Centrals SC (Mt. Gambier) Forfeit.
Adelaide Vipers FC (State League 2) 1-0 Modbury Vista (State League 2)
Fulham United FC (State League 2) 9-1 Apollo SC (Mt. Gambier)
Adelaide University SC (State League 2) 5-1 Seaford Rangers (State League 2)
Barmera United (Riverland) 1-4 Renmark Olympic (Riverland)
Adelaide Cobras (State League 2) 4-2 Mercedes Old Collegians (Collegiate League)

32 Round One Entrants:

PlayStation 4 NPL Teams

Adelaide Blue Eagles
Adelaide City
Adelaide Comets
Adelaide Olympic
Campbelltown City
Croydon Kings
Cumberland United
Para Hills Knights
West Adelaide SC
West Torrens Birkalla

(Adelaide United will join the competition in the national Round of 32 with their A-League team)

FFSA State League 1

Adelaide Hills Hawks
Adelaide Victory
Modbury Jets SC
Noarlunga United
Port Adelaide Lions SC
Adelaide Raiders
Salisbury United
South Adelaide Panthers
Sturt Lions
The Cove FC
White City FC

(Western Strikers qualify via being drawn to play, and winning, in the Preliminary Round – see below)

Preliminary Round Winners

International SC (Mt. Gambier)
Gawler SC (State League 2)
Western Strikers (State League 1)
Northern Demons (State League 2)
Playford City (State League 2)
Adelaide Vipers (State League 2)
Fulham United (State League 2)
Adelaide Uni SC (State League 2)
Renmark Olympic (Riverland)
Adelaide Cobras (State League 2)

The Round 1 Draw will be conducted at 12pm tomorrow in the Coopers Bar on Level 2 at Coopers Stadium and will be broadcast live via Football Federation SA‘s and The Advertiser Sport’s Facebook pages.